A Photo & 5 · Historical Places

A Photo & 5: Traitor’s Gate

Hi all!  I’m excited to announce a new feature on my blog today.  I’m calling it “A Photo & 5.”  Sometimes you just aren’t in the mood for a long, in-depth read.  You just want to look at something interesting and get to the guts of it quickly. Well, that’s what this feature is for.  I’ll post a photo, and give you five quick facts about the history that goes along with it.  Fun, fast, factual.  A photo and 5.

Today’s photo and 5 is about Traitors’ Gate at the Tower of London.  I took this photo when I visited there in 2007.  The 5 facts are below the photo. Enjoy!

IMG_0263
Traitors’ Gate at the Tower of London

 

1. It is the water-gate entrance to the Tower of London. It was built on the orders of King Edward I between 1275 and 1279 to provide a way for him to arrive at the Tower by river.

2. It forms part of St. Thomas’ Tower, which provided accommodation for royals.

3. Over the Years, The Tower of London was used more and more as a prison for enemies of the state accused of treason. The prisoners would arrive by barge through Traitors Gate, thus giving it the name.

4. Before passing through Traitor’s Gate, prisoners would float under London Bridge, where they could get good view of the heads of the recently executed displayed on pikes. Real classy.

5.Queen Anne Boleyn, and other famous prisoners passed through Traitors’ Gate prior to execution. Accused of treason, adultery, and incest, she arrived at the Tower of London on May 2, 1536.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/pat-on-the-back/

7 thoughts on “A Photo & 5: Traitor’s Gate

  1. Excellent idea! How often can we expect “A Photo & 5?” Weekly? Monthly? When the spirit moves you? And maybe you can add an audience participation feature? Let your audience suggest future subjects in comments? Can I start? OK. The Bridge of Sighs. I know that you know this one, but I think that many people only know that phrase from an old song by Robin Trower. You could do a picture and 5 and a video!

    PS: I love history. I’m following just for that. That you can string a sentence together is icing.

    Like

    1. Hi there, thanks for the comment and suggestion. I’ll have a Photo & 5 feature about The Bridge of Sighs posted soon. You’ll see a Photo & 5 feature weekly, and I will absolutely invite audience suggestion from now on. It’s wonderful to have a fellow history enthusiast as a follower, and I’m excited to read your future ruminations…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

